Divergent's Veronica Roth to Write New Book Series 'in the Vein of Star Wars'

Monday, 02 March 2015 - 1:45PM
Divergent
Monday, 02 March 2015 - 1:45PM
Divergent's Veronica Roth to Write New Book Series 'in the Vein of Star Wars'

Veronica, the author behind the Divergent series, will write a two-book young adult series that publisher Harper Collins describes as "in the vein of Star Wars."

 

The official summary of the new series, according to a Harper Collins press release, reads: "In the untitled first novel of a highly anticipated duology in the vein of Star Wars, Veronica Roth explores-with poise and poignancy-the story of a boy who forms an unlikely alliance with an enemy. Both desperate to escape their oppressive lives, they help each other attain what they most desire: for one, redemption, and the other, revenge."

 

According to Roth, "the idea started with a character. All the other elements - setting, world, even a substantial portion of the plot - came after." She also stated that she had a "pretty detailed" outline of the series, but was still in the early stages of writing. "That's why I'm being so vague."

 

Roth began writing the Divergent trilogy over winter break while still an undergraduate at Northwestern University. She completed the series in 2013, and the books have gone on to sell over 32 million copies. The film adaptation of the second novel, Insurgent, comes out on March 20, and the new "Star Wars-esque" duology is set to come out in 2017 and 2018.

Science Fiction
Sci-Fi Books
Divergent

Load Comments