Ann Leckie's Ancillary Justice Wins 2014 Best Novel At 2014 Hugo Awards

Monday, 18 August 2014 - 9:50AM
Monday, 18 August 2014 - 9:50AM
Ann Leckie's Ancillary Justice Wins 2014 Best Novel At 2014 Hugo Awards
< >

Last night, Sunday 17th August, the 2014 Hugo Awards were announced at a gala event at Loncon 3 in London's Excel convention center. The annual celebration of all things Science Fiction saw awards handed out for works spanning all formats across the genre including Fancasts, Art and Film. But as has been the case since the awards first started in 1953, the title of 'Best Novel' is the one everyone was waiting for, and this year that prize went to the excellent 'Ancillary Justice'.


Written by Ann Leckie, Ancillary Justice is set in a distant future and weaves a thrilling tale of Galactic super powers, treachery and humanoid Artificial Intelligence. Ancillary Justice received widespread acclaim when it was released last year, and the fact that this was Leckie's debut novel only makes the achievement more impressive. Leckie beat out competition from Mira Grant's 'Parasite', Charles Stross's 'Neptunes Brood', Larry Correia's 'Warbound' and 'The Wheel of Time' by Robert Jordan and Brandon Sanderson.


Here's what a clearly overjoyed Leckie said when addressing the hundreds of fans at the Excel center:


"Most of all, I would like to thank you. You write alone, but you write hoping that there will be readers who will connect with what you write and it's so wonderful and amazing – I can't even tell you – when that actually happens. Thank you so, so much."


Ancillary Justice represents Book #1 of the three book Imperial Radch series. Book #2, Ancillary Sword, is expected to be released on October 7th 2014.


Below is a comprehensive list of all last night's big winners...



BEST NOVEL - Ancillary Justice by Ann Leckie


BEST NOVELLA -  Equoid by Charles Stross


BEST NOVELLETTE -  The Lady Astronaut of Mars by Mary Robinette Kowal


BEST SHORT STORY -  The Water That Falls on You from Nowhere by John Chu


BEST RELATED WORK - We Have Always Fought: Challenging the Women, Cattle and Slaves Narrative by Kameron Hurley (A Dribble of Ink)


BEST GRAPHIC STORY -  Time by Randall Munroe


BEST DRAMATIC PRESENTATION (Long Form) - Gravity written by Alfonso Cuarón and Jonás Cuarón, directed by Alfonso Cuarón


BEST DRAMATIC PRESENTATION (Short Form) - Game of Thrones: The Rains of Castamere written by David Benioff and DB Weiss, directed by David Nutter


BEST EDITOR (Short Form) - Ellen Datlow


BEST EDITOR (Long Form) - Ginjer Buchanan




BEST SEMI-PRO ZINE - Lightspeed Magazine edited by John Joseph Adams, Rich Horton, and Stefan Rudnicki


BEST FANZINE - A Dribble of Ink edited by Aidan Moher


BEST FANCAST -  SF Signal Podcast, Patrick Hester


BEST FAN WRITER - Kameron Hurley




John W Campbell Award for Best New Writer -  Sofia Samatar

Science Fiction
Sci-Fi Books