How to See the First Super Blue Blood Moon Eclipse in 150 Years

Thursday, 04 January 2018 - 10:15AM
Moon
Thursday, 04 January 2018 - 10:15AM
How to See the First Super Blue Blood Moon Eclipse in 150 Years
< >
Image credit: Pixabay

It has been a busy couple of weeks for people who like to stare at the sky and take photos of the Moon, but leave those telescopes out because the fun and excitement isn't over quite yet. 2018 started with a supermoon on January 1, and according to the experts, it will end with something that sounds ten times more epic: a Super Blue Blood Moon.

NASA promised a trilogy of lunar events beginning back on December 3 and ending with a lunar eclipse on January 31.

That total eclipse will combine with the second full moon of the month (also known as a blue moon), which hasn't happened in the past 150 years.

Unfortunately because of the location of the moon when the eclipse is set to occur, not everyone on the planet will be able to see it. 

"The eclipse will take place during the middle of the night, and the Pacific Ocean will be turned toward the moon at the time," wrote skywatching columnist Joe Rao. "Central and eastern Asia, Indonesia, New Zealand and most of Australia will get a fine view of this moon show in the evening sky. Heading farther west into western Asia, the Indian subcontinent, the Middle East and Eastern Europe, the eclipse will already be underway as the moon rises."

If you miss this total eclipse, you'll have to wait until the Blue Moon passes through Earth's umbra again on December 31, 2028 and again on January 31, 2037, which isn't 150 years from now but is still a fairly long wait to see something so cool.

Below, here's all the information on viewing times you need to ensure you catch what's sure to be the skywatching event of 2018.

Partial eclipse begins: 1:48 (HST), 2:48 (AKST), 3:48 (PST), 4:48 (MST), 5:48 (CST), 6:48 (EST)

Total eclipse begins: 2:51 (HST), 3:51 (AKST), 4:51 (PST), 5:51 (MST), 6:51 (CST)

Mid-eclipse: 3:30 (HST), 4:30 (AKST), 5:30 (PST), 6:30 (MST)

Total eclipse ends: 4:08 (HST), 5:08 (AKST), 6:08 (PST), 7:08 (MST)

Partial eclipse ends: 5:12 (HST), 6:12 (AKST), 7:12 (PST)

Science
Space
Moon